The Kinks in my Hair

Ever since I took the step to cut off my permed or “relaxed” hair and allow my hair to grow back in its natural form, I have noticed the way people look at me when I decide to go out in public with an afro. Many persons have said they love the “natural look” and Rastafarian men refer to me as “Empress” while others, ask me “When are you going to comb your hair?” or “Why does your hair look like that?”

I can assure you, my hair is combed, thoroughly picked with my soul comb and my hair “looks like that” because that is the way is grows from my scalp, how else is it supposed to look? I believe people forget that no two persons are the same and my personal preference does not have to be yours. People seem to only like or praise natural hair when it’s curly and accompanied by light brown skin. This stigma of having “pretty hair” is just that and is what is deemed acceptable to wear any way the person likes.

Firstly, let me clearly state that I have no issue at all with anyone who has a different hair type than mine, as mine is a mixture of kinks, curls, and some straight strands, but I am extremely annoyed at the mentality some people have and constant cry of “freedom of speech” and “right to having an opinion”. I didn’t ask you for suggestions on my hair nor do I tell you what to do with yours or lack thereof.

It is bad enough that in some parts of the world, women with naturally kinky hair are being suspended and even expelled from school and given notices at work because of the way their hair grows from their scalp. Being told to “comb” it because it LOOKS dirty or because it is distracting other persons in the environment, which most times is entirely false. In the year 2016, things like this are only one of the MANY issues women face on a daily basis. Not to point fingers, but when a white person imitates hair styles which are predominately black, they are said to look “trendy” but God forbid a black woman do such a simple thing.

Why should we have to “tame” or straighten our hair to be deemed socially acceptable on a certain level of professionalism? Why should I be forced to fit in when I was obviously made to stand out? In a world where so many things have changed over the years, why did this old fashion way of thinking stick? How is my hair affecting my performance? Show me the facts or excuse me while I moisturize my hair with coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

