How To Get Over Your Ex

I think it’s safe to say we’ve all been in love at least once in our lives, and when that fairy tale ended and the smoke cleared, like many of us you didn’t know what to do. So my friend, if you are currently experiencing heartbreak I’m here to give you some tips that helped me move on.

  1. Delete the Memories

This is the first thing I do when a relationship ends. If you’re like me and you aren’t into “on again, off again” childish relationships and you know it’s actually over, it makes no sense to hoard the pictures, messages, promises, their number and gifts, especially if the break up was bad. Unfortunately we cannot delete memories but this is the next best thing! Save yourself the torture of going through everything and wondering where things went wrong. Delete, delete, delete!

      2. Vent When Necessary

It doesn’t have to be to someone, but releasing how you feel is critical in the healing process. Don’t become one of those broken persons who ruin everyone they come across because they don’t know how to handle their emotions. Hell, you can even vent to your ex! Never let someone who hurt you tell you how to behave, because they don’t get to decide that they didn’t. Talk about it, write it down, cry it out, let it out in any healthy way you choose.

      3. Check For Who Checks For You

Just because I said you can vent to your ex doesn’t mean you should blow their phone up, especially if they can’t find the time of day to at least ask you if you’re okay. Delete his or her number if you have to, there is no shame in it! He or she is an ex for a reason, remember that. Now is the time to check for all the red flags you overlooked throughout the relationship.

       4. What’s For You Will Always Be

A lot of people like to say “If it’s meant to be, it will be” and “What’s for me, will always be for me” but hey, sometimes things don’t work out no matter how hard you try, and that’s okay. Personally, I think that if a relationship isn’t going to work out it would be a waste of my time to be in it in the first place. But, later on in life some people do get back together. This doesn’t mean you should sit around waiting on the person to come back to you though.

        5. Things Take Time

One thing I must stress is to never rush the process. Do not be one of those persons who jump from one relationship to the next in only a couple of months. Take time to be by yourself, learn about yourself and most importantly, love yourself. Self love is the best love and you’re much stronger than this painful moment you feel stuck in. I was single for a whole year after I got my heart broken but now, I’ve never been better.

     6.  Pick Your Poison

Mine happens to be writing and music. This blog is a result of me needing a place to put my thoughts. I listen to music more than the average person and I can honestly say it has helped me get through A LOT. Alive by Sia certainly gave me a breath of fresh air and I went from Rihanna’s Stay to Needed Me real quick.

If you have any advice, or tips and tricks about relationships, feel free to comment below and help a friend!

Leave a Reply

